Skip to content
January 9, 2009 / Mary Ann

Debra and Sadie

scan0013

Debra and Sadie, 1990-something. I think that’s David in the background, although possibly Mark? Sadie was our beloved English Springer Spaniel that we got in 1980-something when Carl was at sea. On our way to the pier to see him come in on USS Pargo (maybe), the submarine he was on at the time, I made the kids promise not to tell Daddy about the new dog. Naturally young Debby, first thing when she saw her dad said, “Daddy, guess what we got?” I don’t really recall whether we had talked about possibly getting a dog or why I thought it was a good idea to get a dog when Carl was at sea and couldn’t participate in the decision. But we all loved her, eventually anyway. I took her to dog obedience classes and she and I did learn how to take nice walks and she would sit on command. Otherwise, I’m not sure she was the best behaved dog in the world, she jumped up on people as I recall. A friend went to the vet’s office with me when she got old and sick and had to be put to sleep and we cried together. Sadie was buried beneath some trees on the lawn of Gales Ferry United Methodist Church, close to at least one other English Springer Spaniel named Lady who belonged to the minister who was at the church for most of the time we attended there.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Deb / Jan 9 2009 8:09 pm

    Hate to burst your bubble, but I’m 95% sure that is Toby. I don’t remember that story about how we got Sadie, but I love it!

  2. Suzanne / Jan 9 2009 8:33 pm

    That is one of my favorite pictures of all time, but I have to concur with Debra. I didn’t catch it at first, though, but I thought that face looked a little more recently familiar than if it had been Sadie.

  3. Dave S. / Jan 9 2009 9:43 pm

    Actually, I took this picture, and yes, that is Toby, not Sadie. That puts this picture at around 1996/1997, must have been right before you moved out of that house. Sadie died when I was in Germany, September 1995. Dad was on the Pargo from 1980-1984, we got Sadie early, 1981, I’d bet. And would you believe that technology has developed to the point that submarines now have email and broadband internet access? While underwater. Yep, family grams are old, old news. Just think what are lives would have been like.

  4. Mary Ann / Jan 9 2009 11:17 pm

    Very interesting. So who is in the background?
    Were Toby’s ears shorter than Sadie’s?

  5. Deb / Jan 10 2009 6:40 pm

    That is Mark in the background. He and Suzanne were visiting. I think they were shorter.

    That’s crazy about submarines having email. I’m not surprised, but you are right, what a different life it would have been.

  6. Dave S. / Jan 10 2009 9:03 pm

    Her face looked different, I can tell by looking at him that this is Toby, plus I remember taking the picture.

Leave a comment